Four Cong MLAs in Kerala censured by Speaker

Thiruvananthapuram, Nov 21 (PTI): Kerala Assembly Speaker P Sreeramakrishnan on Thursday censured 4 opposition Congress MLAs for climbing on to his dais and raising slogans during a protest.

The incident occurred on Wednesday during a protest by Congress-led UDF MLAs against the police lathicharge on Palakkad legislator Shafi Parambil and some Kerala Students Union activists during a march to the assembly on Tuesday.

During the protest inside the assembly, the four MLAs-Roji M John, I C Balakrishnan, Anwar Sadat and Eldose Kunnapally- had climbed on to the speaker’s dais and raised slogans against the police action.

The UDF members had disrupted proceedings in the Kerala Assembly on Wednesday and staged a walkout, condemning the lathicharge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *