Bihar bypolls: NDA leading in all 3 seats

Patna, March 14 Initial counting of votes on Wednesday showed the BJP-led NDA is leading in the Araria Lok Sabha and Jahanabad and Bhabua assembly by-elections in Bihar.

The candidates of the Grand Alliance of RJD, Congress and HAM were trailing from all three seats.

In Araria, Bharatiya…

Read More

UP bypoll: BJP leading in Gorakhpur, Phulpur

Lucknow, March 14  Counting of votes for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh began amid tight security on Wednesday, a poll official said. In the initial rounds of counting, BJP is leading in both seats.

While in the Gorakhpur bypoll, Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Upendra Dutt…

Read More

Rajya Sabha adjourned for the day

New Delhi, March 13 The Rajya Sabha was adjourned for the day on Tuesday, minutes after it reassembled at 2 p.m, without transacting any business amid ruckus by opposition TDP and AIADMK members over various issues.

As soon as the House met in the afternoon, some members came near…

Read More

Jharkhand: BJP, Congress candidates file nominations for RS polls

Ranchi, March 13 The two Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates from Jharkhand for the March 23 Rajya Sabha elections — Sameer Oraon and Pradeep Senthalia — and Congress nominee Dheeraj Sahu filed their nominations on Monday.

Oraon and Santhalia were accompanied by Chief Minister Raghubar Das, and state ministers and legislators when…

Read More

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

New Delhi, March 12 The Congress on Sunday announced names of 10 candidates for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in seven states, including Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal and senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra.

Congress President approved the list for the the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls.


Read More